Home Page

A caring community committed to encouraging individuals to succeed and fulfil their potential.

Governing Body

After many years of very successful and close collaboration, Giggleswick Primary, Hellifield Community Primary and Long Preston Endowed V.A. Primary have formed The Ribblesdale Federation of Schools. All three schools - which are rated ‘good’ by Ofsted - are looking forward to continuing to deliver high quality learning to local children, whilst increasing their schools’ sustainability.


The three former Governing Bodies have been replaced by a single body made up of members from all three villages, nominated by a number of bodies, including parents, staff, North Yorkshire County Council, and in recognition of Long Preston’s Christian ethos, the Anglican Diocese of Leeds and the Hartley Educational Foundation.


Currently (May 2018), the membership of the Governing Body of the Ribblesdale Federation of Schools is as follows:

Headteacher GovernorsMs. Anne Michelmore-Brown, Mrs. Elizabeth Martin, Mrs. Kate Butcher, Mrs. Sara Binns

Local Authority GovernorMr. Paul Gibbons (Chair)

Foundation Governors: Mrs. Helen Smith, Mrs. Emmy Hodgson

Parent Governors: Mrs. Amy Robinson, Mrs. Katharine Walkden

Staff Governor: Mrs. Laura Turner

Co-opted Governors: Reverend Stuart Stobart, Mr. Andrew Bradley (Vice Chair), Mrs. Pam Jordan, Vacancy

Associate Governors: Mrs. Lisa Shepherd, Mrs. Claire Weston, Mr. James Atkinson, Mr. Dom Hewitt

Clerk to the Governing Body: Mr. Chris Davey

The Governing Body of

The Ribblesdale Federation of Schools


Committee Membership


Education Committee

Finance & Resources Committee

Staffing Committee

Mrs. Pam Jordan

Reverend Stuart Stobart (Chair)

Mr. Andrew Bradley (Chair)

Ms. Anne Michelmore-Brown

Mr. Paul Gibbons

Mrs. Elizabeth Martin

Mrs. Laura Turner

Mrs. Elizabeth Martin

Ms. Anne Michelmore-Brown

Mrs. Amy Robinson

Ms. Anne Michelmore-Brown

Mrs. Sara Binns/Mrs. Kate Butcher

Mrs. Claire Weston

Mrs. Sara Binns/Mrs. Kate Butcher

Mr. Paul Gibbons

Mrs. Lisa Shepherd

Mrs. Emmy Hodgson

Mrs. Claire Weston

Mr. Dom Hewitt

Mrs. Helen Smith

Mrs. Amy Robinson

Mrs. Katharine Walkden



Mr. James Atkinson





The Governing Body of The Ribblesdale Federation of Schools has a range of powers and duties laid down by various Education Acts and its core strategic functions are:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

  • holding the Headteachers to account for the educational performance of the schools and pupils;

  • overseeing the financial performance of the schools and making sure money is well spent.


The Governing Body is made up as follows: three Headteachers; one Local Authority (appointed) Governor; two Foundation Governors (appointed); one Staff Governor (elected); two Parent Governors (elected); four Co-opted Governors (appointed) and four Associate Governors (appointed).


Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body and are members who, in the opinion of the Governing Body, have the necessary skills required to effectively contribute to the effective governance and success of the school. From time to time, all Governors are required to undertake a Skills Audit so that the Governing Body can identify any potential ‘skills gaps’ should there be any future governor elections, and also so that relevant governor training can be arranged if deemed necessary. Cluster-based training is organised, wherever possible, giving Governors a chance to train locally and also meet colleagues from other local schools.


The four co-opted Governors are members of the local community. The parent governors have regularly required elections, which demonstrates the number of parents prepared to show the commitment to the school which is needed to be a governor.


Governors are expected to confirm that they have no business interests in the school, receive no gifts or any form of hospitality and are eligible to serve as a Governor (Statutory Declaration). All Governors hold an enhanced DBS Certificate and conform to the Disqualification Disclosure criteria.


The full Governing Body is scheduled to meet six times per academic year (once per half-term). In addition, all Governors are members of at least one of its committees.


The Governing Body reviews the progress of each school's Development Plan and sets and agrees each school's budget, with help from the Bursar, prioritising what has been highlighted in the Development Plans; the budgets are also reviewed again in the Autumn. Regular monitoring of the finances takes place with reports are made available to the Governing Body for any discussion and decisions which may need to be made as the year progresses. Once a year, the Governing Body reviews each school's Financial Value Standards to ensure that each school is following good practice and is fully compliant.


The Governing Body reviews all data, both that available nationally and that within each school, for Early Years, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2, including keeping track of children who attract Pupil Premium funding, and those with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities, also the Gifted & Talented children, to ensure all pupils’ needs are being met, and progress is being made, asking challenging questions when necessary. When it is deemed necessary, changes to provision are made and extra resources made available. 


Governors also monitor the attendance figures and set the Attendance Target each year. Safeguarding is a priority for Governors and is constantly under review. The Governing Body reviews and agrees relevant policies throughout the year and introduces new ones to reflect new legislation, as required. The Governing Body is also responsible for the Performance Management of the Headteachers.


Minutes of Governors’ Meetings are public documents. If you would like to inspect any Minutes from meetings, you can do so by requesting copies of the same from the Clerk to Governors.